| | Cost_Volume_Profit Analysis | Input your M number in the Name &Mnumber spreadsheet and use the figures |
| | & the behavior of costs |
| | | Price per trayF | | $11.81 | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | $11.81 |
| | Over the past six months Angie |
| | has incurred the following costs |
| | and made the sales revenues |
| | related to her empanada business | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | 0.25 | 0.39 | 0.28 | 100 | $ 134.00 | $ 765.00 |
| | | | Empanada | Labor | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Empanada | Labor |
| | | Sales | Ingredients | Costs | Trays | Rent | Utilities | Delivery | | | | | Sales | units | | | | | | | | | | | | Sales | Ingredients | Costs | Trays | Rent | Utilities | Delivery | Q | profit |
| | APRIL | $ 3,543.00 | $ 885.75 | $ 1,381.77 | $ 84.00 | $ 1,100.00 | $ 134.00 | $ 765.00 | | | | APRIL | $ 3,543.00 | 300 | | | | | | | | | | | APRIL | $ 3,543.00 | $ 885.75 | $ 1,381.77 | $ 84.00 | $ 1,100.00 | $ 134.00 | $ 765.00 | 300 | $ (807.52) | 300 |
| | MAY | $ 4,133.50 | $ 1,033.38 | $ 1,612.06 | $ 98.00 | $ 1,100.00 | $ 138.50 | $ 825.00 | | | | MAY | $ 4,133.50 | 350 | | | | | | | | | | | MAY | $ 4,133.50 | $ 1,033.38 | $ 1,612.06 | $ 98.00 | $ 1,100.00 | $ 138.50 | $ 825.00 | 350 | $ (673.44) | 350 |
| | JUNE | $ 5,314.50 | $ 1,328.62 | $ 2,072.65 | $ 126.00 | $ 1,100.00 | $ 147.50 | $ 945.00 | | | | JUNE | $ 5,314.50 | 450 | | | | | | | | | | | JUNE | $ 5,314.50 | $ 1,328.62 | $ 2,072.65 | $ 126.00 | $ 1,100.00 | $ 147.50 | $ 945.00 | 450 | $ (405.28) | 450 |
| | JULY | $ 5,905.00 | $ 1,476.25 | $ 2,302.95 | $ 140.00 | $ 1,100.00 | $ 152.00 | $ 1,005.00 | | | | JULY | $ 5,905.00 | 500 | | | | | | | | | | | JULY | $ 5,905.00 | $ 1,476.25 | $ 2,302.95 | $ 140.00 | $ 1,100.00 | $ 152.00 | $ 1,005.00 | 500 | $ (271.20) | 500 |
| | AUGUST | $ 7,676.50 | $ 1,919.12 | $ 2,993.83 | $ 182.00 | $ 1,100.00 | $ 165.50 | $ 1,185.00 | | | | AUGUST | $ 7,676.50 | 650 | | | | | | | | | | | AUGUST | $ 7,676.50 | $ 1,919.12 | $ 2,993.83 | $ 182.00 | $ 1,100.00 | $ 165.50 | $ 1,185.00 | 650 | $ 131.04 | 650 |
| | SEPTEMBER | $ 12,991.00 | $ 3,247.75 | $ 5,066.49 | $ 308.00 | $ 1,100.00 | $ 206.00 | $ 1,725.00 | | | | SEPTEMBER | $ 12,991.00 | 1100 | | Labor | | | | | | | | | SEPTEMBER | $ 12,991.00 | $ 3,247.75 | $ 5,066.49 | $ 308.00 | $ 1,100.00 | $ 206.00 | $ 1,725.00 | 1100 | $ 1,337.76 | 1100 |
| | | | | | | | | | | | | | Price per trayF | | Ingredients | Costs | Trays | Utilities | Delivery | variable cost per unit | Contribution Margin Per unit |
| | | | | | | | | | | | | | APRIL | $11.81 | $ 2.95 | $ 4.61 | $ 0.28 | 0 | 0 |
| | | | | | | | | utilities | delivery | | | | MAY | $11.81 | $ 2.95 | $ 4.61 | $ 0.28 | $ 0.09 | $ 1.20 | $ 9.13 | $2.68 |
| | | | | | | | intercept | 107 | 405 | | | | JUNE | $11.81 | $ 2.95 | $ 4.61 | $ 0.28 | $ 0.09 | $ 1.20 | $ 9.13 | $2.68 |
| | | | | | | | slop | 0.09 | 1.2 | | | | JULY | $11.81 | $ 2.95 | $ 4.61 | $ 0.28 | $ 0.09 | $ 1.20 | $ 9.13 | $2.68 |
| | | | | | | | | | | | | | AUGUST | $11.81 | $ 2.95 | $ 4.61 | $ 0.28 | $ 0.09 | $ 1.20 | $ 9.13 | $2.68 |
| | | | | | | | | | | | | | SEPTEMBER | $11.81 | $ 2.95 | $ 4.61 | $ 0.28 | $ 0.09 | $ 1.20 | $ 9.13 | $2.68 |
| | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | $ 9.13 |
| | Answer the following questions: | Using formulas and links Do not type in answers | | | 12 | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | $ 2.68 | | | | | | $ 2.95 | $ 4.61 | $ 0.28 | $ 1,100.00 | $ 0.40 | $ 2.36 |
| | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | $ 2.95 | $ 4.61 | $ 0.28 | $ 1,100.00 | $ 0.33 | $ 2.10 |
| | Month Angie first earns a profit? | AUGUST | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | $ 2.95 | $ 4.61 | $ 0.28 | $ 1,100.00 | $ 0.30 | $ 2.01 |
| | Which months does Angie have a loss? | April until July | | | | | | | | | | | | | Variable cost | Variable cost | Variable cost | Variable cost | Variable cost | | | | | | | | $ 2.95 | $ 4.61 | $ 0.28 | $ 1,100.00 | $ 0.25 | $ 1.82 |
| | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Empanada | Labor | | | | total | | | | | | | $ 2.95 | $ 4.61 | $ 0.28 | $ 1,100.00 | $ 0.19 | $ 1.57 |
| | Which items are: | | | | | | | | | | | | | Sales | Ingredients | Costs | Trays | Utilities | Delivery | Variable cost | Net contribution margin |
| | Variable cost items? | Ingredients, Labor cost and trays | | | | | | | | | | | APRIL | $ 3,543.00 | $ 885.75 | $ 1,381.77 | $ 84.00 | 0 | 0 | $ 2,351.52 | $ 1,191.48 | | | | | | | | | VCu | $ 0.09 | $ 1.20 |
| | Mixed Cost items? | utilities and Delivery | | | | | | | | | | | MAY | $ 4,133.50 | $ 1,033.38 | $ 1,612.06 | $ 98.00 | $ 4.50 | $ 60.00 | $ 2,807.94 | $ 1,325.56 | | | | | | | | | FC | 107 | 405 |
| | Fixed Cost item? | rent | | | | | | | | | | | JUNE | $ 5,314.50 | $ 1,328.62 | $ 2,072.65 | $ 126.00 | $ 13.50 | $ 180.00 | $ 3,720.78 | $ 1,593.72 |
| | | | | | | | | | | | | | JULY | $ 5,905.00 | $ 1,476.25 | $ 2,302.95 | $ 140.00 | $ 18.00 | $ 240.00 | $ 4,177.20 | $ 1,727.80 |
| | Contribution Margin per tray? | $2.68 | | | | | | | | | | | AUGUST | $ 7,676.50 | $ 1,919.12 | $ 2,993.83 | $ 182.00 | $ 31.50 | $ 420.00 | $ 5,546.46 | $ 2,130.04 |
| | | | | | | | | | | | | | SEPTEMBER | $ 12,991.00 | $ 3,247.75 | $ 5,066.49 | $ 308.00 | $ 72.00 | $ 960.00 | $ 9,654.24 | $ 3,336.76 |
| | Contribution Margin percentage? | 22.7% | | | | | | | | | | | | 100% | | | | | | | ] |
| | Angie's CVP formula per month | Profit= (P * Q -V * Q) - FIXED EXPENSES | | With the numbers: Profit = $11.81Q - $9.13Q - $1612 | | | | | | | | | | fixed costs |
| | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Rent | Utilities | Delivery | total fixed cost | total net profit |
| | Break even Quantity | 745 | 601 | | | | | | | | | | APRIL | $ 1,100.00 | $ 134.00 | $ 765.00 | $ 1,999.00 | $ (807.52) |
| | | | | | | | | | | | | | MAY | $ 1,100.00 | $ 134.00 | $ 765.00 | $ 1,999.00 | $ (673.44) |
| | Break even Sales | $ 8,803.77 | $ 7,099 | | | | | | | | | | JUNE | $ 1,100.00 | $ 134.00 | $ 765.00 | $ 1,999.00 | $ (405.28) | | | | | | | | | Empanada | Labor |
| | | | | | | | | | | | | | JULY | $ 1,100.00 | $ 134.00 | $ 765.00 | $ 1,999.00 | $ (271.20) | | | | | | | | Sales | Ingredients | Costs | Trays | Rent | Utilities | Delivery | Q |
| | Sales for target profit of $4,000 mo | $ 12,803.77 | $ 24,716 | You would have earned over $4,000 profit in September if your answer was correct? | | | | | | | | | AUGUST | $ 1,100.00 | $ 134.00 | $ 765.00 | $ 1,999.00 | $ 131.04 | | | | | | | | $ 4,000.00 | $ 1,000.00 | $ 1,200.00 | $ 100.00 | $ 1,000.00 | $ 140.00 | $ 600.00 | 338.6960203218 |
| | | | | Why accept this answer? | | | | | | | | | SEPTEMBER | $ 1,100.00 | $ 134.00 | $ 765.00 | $ 1,999.00 | $ 1,337.76 | | | | | | | | 5,000.00 | 1,250.00 | 1,500.00 | 125.00 | 1,000.00 | 150.00 | 700.00 | 423.3700254022 |
| | Taxes Income 30% | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | 3,000.00 | 750.00 | 900.00 | 75.00 | 1,000.00 | 130.00 | 500.00 | 254.0220152413 |
| | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | 2,500.00 | 625.00 | 750.00 | 62.50 | 1,000.00 | 125.00 | 450.00 | 211.6850127011 |
| | Break even Quantity | is going to be the same | Show the number | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | 4,500.00 | 1,125.00 | 1,350.00 | 112.50 | 1,000.00 | 145.00 | 650.00 | 381.033022862 |
| | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | 10,000.00 | 2,500.00 | 3,000.00 | 250.00 | 1,000.00 | 200.00 | 1,200.00 | 846.7400508044 |
| | Sales for target profit of $4,000 mo | $ 5,714 | This is grossed up profit not Sales for target profit | | | | $ 32,266 |
| | Please provide, in good form, an itemized Variable-Costing Income Statement for the six month period from April through September | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | $ 2.95 | $ 4.61 | $ 0.28 | $ 1,100.00 | $ 0.45 | $ 2.55 |
| | (Do not show 6 income statements) | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | $ 2.95 | $ 4.61 | $ 0.28 | $ 1,100.00 | $ 0.40 | $ 2.36 |
| | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | $ 2.95 | $ 4.61 | $ 0.28 | $ 1,100.00 | $ 0.33 | $ 2.10 |
| | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | $ 2.95 | $ 4.61 | $ 0.28 | $ 1,100.00 | $ 0.30 | $ 2.01 |
| | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | $ 2.95 | $ 4.61 | $ 0.28 | $ 1,100.00 | $ 0.25 | $ 1.82 |
| | | Sales | $ 39,563.50 |
| | | Variable expense | $ 28,258.14 | $ 28,258.14 | TVC | 30,580 |
| | | Contribution margin | $ 11,305.36 | $ 11,305.36 | CM | 8,984 | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Vcu | 0.09 | 1.2 |
| | | Fixed producatoin expenses | $ 11,994.00 | | TFE | 9,672 | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | FC | 107.00 | 405 |
| | | Net operating income | $ (688.64) |
| | | 30% taxes | | no taxes |
| | | Net profit | ($688.64) |
| | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | $11.81 | Price | 100% | 601 | | BEq |
| | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | $ 1,612.00 | | 9.13 | Vcu | 77% |
| | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | $2.68 | Cmu | 23% | $ 7,099.39 | | BE$ |
| | What questions would you need to have answered to determine if Angie can reach her goal in the next six months? |
| | how many units could she sell with out any increase in the fixed cost? |
| | if we dubeld the fixed cost do you think you can dubaled the uints sold as well ? | | | What would you gain from knowing this? |
| | labor costs is higher than dirct materials do you think if you buy a machine that could decrease this mount of direct materials? | | | | | | Why would a machine decrease direct materials |