Acc 550 - Cost Accounting - Final Project
Part I
| Requirement 1 | |||
| Units | Price | Totals | |
| Sales | 60,000 | $12.50 | $750,000 |
| Variable Costs | 60,000 | $6.00 | $360,000.00 |
| Fixed Costs | 295525 | $295,525.00 | |
| Net Income | $94,475.00 | ||
| Requirement 2 | |||
| Contribution Margin per Unit in Dollars = Selling Price – Variable Costs | |||
| Selling Price | Variable Costs | Contribution Margin per Unit | |
| $12.50 | $6.00 | $6.50 | |
| Contribution Margin Ratio = Contribution Margin/Selling Price | |||
| Contribution Margin | Selling Price | Contribution Margin Ratio | |
| $6.50 | $12.50 | 52.00% | |
| Requirement 3 | |||
| Break-Even Point = Fixed Costs / Contribution Margin | |||
| Fixed Costs | Contribution Margin | Break-Even Point in Units (Rounded) | |
| $295,525 | $6.50 | 45,465 | |
| Break-Even Point in Units X Selling Price per Unit = Break-Even Point Sales | |||
| Break-Even Point in Units | Selling Price per Unit | Break-Even Point in Sales (Rounded) | |
| 45,465 | $12.50 | $568,317 | |
| Requirement 4A | |||
| Margin of Safety in Units = Current Unit Sales – Break-Even Point in Unit Sales | |||
| Current Unit Sales | Break-Even Point in Sales | Margin of Safety in Units | |
| 60,000 | 45,465 | 14,534.62 | |
| Requirement 4B | |||
| Margin of Safety in Dollars = Current Sales in Dollars – Break-Even Point Sales in Dollars | |||
| Current Sales in Dollars | Break-Even Point in Dollars | Margin of Safety in Dollars | |
| $750,000 | $568,317 | $181,683 | |
| Requirement 4C | |||
| Margin of Safety as a Percentage = Margin of Sales in Units / Current Unit Sales | |||
| Margin of Safety in Units | Current Unit Sales | Margin of Safety Percentage | |
| 14,535 | 60,000 | 24% | |
| Requirement 5 | |||
| Degree of Operating Leverage = Contribution Margin / Operating Income | |||
| Contribution Margin | Operating Income | Operating Leverage | |
| $390,000.00 | $94,475.00 | 4.1281 | |
| Requirement 6 | |||
| Units | $ Per Unit | Totals | |
| Sales | 72,000 | $12.50 | $900,000 |
| Variable Costs | 72,000 | $6.00 | $432,000.00 |
| Fixed Costs | $295,525.00 | ||
| Net Income | $172,475.00 | ||
| Operating Leverage | Times % Increase | Increase would be XX% | |
| 2.71343673 | 20% | 82.56% | |
| Prior Income | $94,475.00 | From Part 1 | |
| Increase | 82.56% | Prior Income X XX% Above | |
| Total | $172,475.00 | ||
| Requirement 7 | |||
| Targeted Income = (Fixed Costs + Target Income) / Contribution Margin | |||
| Fixed Costs + Target Income | Divided by Contribution Margin | # of Units (Rounded) | |
| Fixed Costs | $295,525 | $6.50 | 45,465 |
| Target Income | $120,000 | $6.50 | 18462 |
| Total | $415,525 | $6.50 | 63,927 |
| # of Units Above X $ Per Unit | |||
| Proof | Revenue | 68542 x 12.50 | $799,087 |
| Variable Costs | 68542 x 6.5 | $383,562 | |
| Contribution Margin | $415,525 | ||
| Fixed Costs | $295,525 | ||
| Net Income | $120,000 | ||
| Requirement 8 | |||
| Sales Mix | |||
| Current | Specialty | Total | |
| Expected Sales Units | 60,000 | 5,000 | 65,000 |
| Revenue = Sales X Price | $750,000 | $55,000 | $805,000 |
| Variable Costs X Units | $360,000 | $31,000 | $391,000 |
| Contribution Margin | $390,000 | $24,000 | $414,000 |
| Fixed Costs | $295,525 | $15,000 | $310,525 |
| Operating Income | $103,475 | ||
| Prior Net Income From Requirement 1 | $94,475.00 | ||
| Additional Operating Income | (Operating Income Above Less Prior Income) | $9,000.00 | |
| Decision With Explanation | Yes, the company should continue with the speciality sales as it will lead to increase in income of $9000 |
Part II
| Requirement 1 | ||||||
| Hampshire Company | ||||||
| Variable Costing Income Statement | ||||||
| Units | $ | |||||
| Sales | 60,000 | $12.50 | $750,000.00 | |||
| Variable Cost of Goods Sold: | ||||||
| Beginning Inventory | 0 | $0 | ||||
| Direct Materials | 80,000 | $3.00 | $240,000.00 | |||
| Direct Labor | 80,000 | $1.50 | $120,000.00 | |||
| Manufacturing Overhead | 80,000 | $0.40 | $32,000.00 | |||
| Total Variable Costs | $392,000.00 | |||||
| Cost of Good Available for Sale | $392,000.00 | |||||
| Deduct Ending Inventory | 20,000 | $4.90 | $98,000.00 | |||
| Variable Costs of Goods Sold | $294,000.00 | |||||
| Variable Selling Costs | 60,000 | $1.10 | $66,000.00 | $66,000.00 | ||
| Contribution Margin | $390,000.00 | |||||
| Fixed Costs: | ||||||
| Fixed Manufacturing Costs | $216,000 | |||||
| Fixed Administrative Costs | $79,525 | |||||
| Operating Income | $94,475.00 | |||||
| Requirement 2 | ||||||
| Hampshire Company | ||||||
| Absorption Costing Income Statement | ||||||
| Units | $ | |||||
| Sales | 60,000 | $12.50 | $750,000.00 | |||
| Variable Cost of Goods Sold: | ||||||
| Beginning Inventory | $0 | |||||
| Direct Materials | 80,000 | $3.00 | $240,000.00 | |||
| Direct Labor | 80,000 | $1.50 | $120,000.00 | |||
| Manufacturing Overhead | 80,000 | $0.40 | $32,000.00 | |||
| Total Variable Costs | $392,000.00 | |||||
| Allocated Fixed Manufacturing Costs | 80,000 | $2.70 | $216,000.00 | |||
| Cost of Good Available for Sale | $608,000.00 | |||||
| Deduct Ending Inventory | 20,000 | $7.60 | $152,000.00 | |||
| Costs of Goods Sold | $456,000.00 | |||||
| Gross Margin | $294,000.00 | |||||
| Fixed Costs: | ||||||
| Variable Selling Costs | 60,000 | $1.10 | $66,000 | |||
| Fixed Administrative Costs | $79,525 | |||||
| Operating Income | $148,475.00 |
Part III
| Requirement 1 | |||||
| Price Variances: | |||||
| (Actual Price – Standard Price) X Actual Quantity | |||||
| Actual | Standard | Actual Quantity | Variance | Favorable or Unfavorable | |
| Cloth | $1.25 | $1.15 | 128,000 | $12,800 | Unfav |
| Handle Assembly | $0.99 | $1.05 | 80,808 | -$4,848 | Fav |
| Labor Price Variance | $7.62 | $7.50 | 15,748 | $1,890 | unfav |
| Requirement 2 | |||||
| Efficiency Variances: | |||||
| (Actual Quantity of Input Used – Standard Quantity of Input Allowed for Actual Output) X Budgeted Price of Input | |||||
| Actual | Standard | Standard Price | Variance | Favorable or Unfavorable | |
| Cloth | 128,000 | 120,000 | $1.15 | $9,200 | Unfav |
| (1.5 Yards per Unit) | |||||
| Handle Assembly | 80,808 | 80,000 | $1.05 | $848 | unfav |
| (1 per Unit) | |||||
| Labor | 15,478 | 16,000 | $7.50 | -$3,915 | Fav |
| (.20 per Unit) |
Part IV
| Cost Information From Instructions | |||
| Stick | Collapsible | ||
| Units Sold | 60,000 | 3,000 | |
| Selling Price | $12.50 | $14.00 | |
| Direct Material Cost Per Unit | $3.00 | $3.10 | |
| Direct Labor Cost Per Hour | $7.50 | $8.00 | |
| Variable MO | $0.40 | $0.40 | |
| Variable Selling Costs | $1.10 | $1.10 | |
| Labor Hours Per Unit | 0.2 | 0.2 | |
| Sales Orders | 120 | 1 | |
| Purchase Orders | 50 | 3 | |
| Production Runs | 45 | 6 | |
| Material Moves | 86 | 10 | |
| Machine Setups | 130 | 6 | |
| Machine Hours | 525 | 32 | |
| Inspections | 200 | 10 | |
| Shipments | 60 | 3 | |
| Activity Information from Instructions | |||
| Activity | Activity Cost | Activity Cost Driver | |
| Order Processing | $35,000 | Number of Sales Orders | |
| Purchasing | $36,000 | Number of Purchase Orders | |
| Material Handing | $28,000 | Material Moves | |
| Machine Setup | $14,000 | Machine Setups | |
| Production | $99,000 | Production Runs | |
| Assembly | $80,000 | Machine Hours | |
| Inspecting | $11,000 | Number of Inspections | |
| Shipping | $7,500 | Number of Shipments | |
| Requirement 1 | |||
| Activity | Total Costs | Quantity of Cost Allocation Base | Overhead Allocation Rate |
| Order Processing | $35,000 | 121 | $289 |
| Purchasing | $36,000 | 53 | $679 |
| Material Handing | $28,000 | 96 | $292 |
| Machine Setup | $14,000 | 136 | $103 |
| Production | $99,000 | 51 | $1,941 |
| Assembly | $80,000 | 557 | $144 |
| Inspecting | $11,000 | 210 | $52 |
| Shipping | $7,500 | 63 | $119 |
| Requirement 2 | |||
| Traditional Costing | |||
| Stick Umbrella | Collapsible Umbrella | Total | |
| Revenues | $750,000 | $42,000 | $792,000 |
| Direct Materials | $180,000 | $9,300 | $189,300 |
| Direct Labor | $450,000 | $24,000 | $474,000 |
| Variable Overhead | $24,000 | $1,200 | $25,200 |
| Variable Selling Costs | $66,000 | $3,300 | $69,300 |
| Allocated Fixed Overhead | $295,714 | $14,786 | $310,500 |
| Total Costs | $1,015,714 | $52,586 | $1,068,300 |
| Operating Income | -$265,714 | -$10,586 | -$276,300 |
| Operating Income % | -35% | -25% | -35% |
| Per Unit Operating Income | -$4.43 | -$3.53 | -$7.96 |
| Requirement 3 | |||
| Activity-Based Costing | |||
| Stick Umbrella | Collapsible Umbrella | Total | |
| Revenues | $750,000 | $42,000 | $792,000 |
| Direct Materials | $180,000 | $9,300 | $189,300 |
| Direct Labor | $450,000 | $24,000 | $474,000 |
| Variable Overhead | $24,000 | $1,200 | $25,200 |
| Variable Selling Costs | $66,000 | $3,300 | $69,300 |
| Order Processing Costs | $34,711 | $289 | $35,000 |
| Purchasing Costs | $33,962 | $2,038 | $36,000 |
| Material Handing Costs | $25,083 | $2,917 | $28,000 |
| Machine Setup Costs | $13,382 | $618 | $14,000 |
| Production Costs | $87,353 | $11,647 | $99,000 |
| Assembly Costs | $75,404 | $4,596 | $80,000 |
| Inspecting Costs | $10,476 | $524 | $11,000 |
| Shipping Costs | $7,143 | $357 | $7,500 |
| Total Costs | $1,007,515 | $60,785 | $1,068,300 |
| Operating Income | -$257,515 | -$18,785 | -$276,300 |
| Operating Income % | -34% | -45% | -35% |
| Per Unit Operating Income | -$4.29 | -$6.26 | -10.5536996281139 |
| Requirement 4 | |||
| Costs per Unit | Stick Umbrella | Collapsible Umbrella | |
| Traditional | $16.93 | $17.53 | |
| ABC | $16.79 | $20.26 | |
| Difference | $0.14 | -$2.73 | |
| Requirement 5 |