Assume that two companies, Brake, Inc. and Carbo, Inc., have the following operating results: Brake, Inc. Carbo, Inc. Sales $300,000 $300,000 Variable Costs 60,000 180,000 Fixed Costs 210,000 90,000 Operating Income $30,000 $30,000 Required: 1. Calcu
Fin-Acc-Boss (Not rated)
(Not rated)
Assume that two companies, Brake, Inc. and Carbo, Inc., have the following operating results:
Brake, Inc.
Carbo, Inc.
Sales
$300,000
$300,000
Variable Costs
60,000
180,000
Fixed Costs
210,000
90,000
Operating Income
$30,000
$30,000
Required:
- Calculate the contribution margins for the two companies.
Contribution margin = (Revenues – Variable expenses) / Revenues
Brake, Inc: ($300,000 - $60,000) / $300,000 = $240,000 / $300,000 = 80%
Carbo, Inc.: ($300,000 - $180,000) / $300,000 = 40%
- Calculate the break-even point for each firm, in dollars and in units.
Break-even point per unit = Fixed expenses / (Price - Variable expenses)
Brake, Inc.:
Carbo, Inc.:
- Compare the two companies. What conclusions could you make regarding the use of operating leverage employed by the two firms?
- Assume that both companies experience an increase in sales by 15% next year. What would be the operating income for each firm net year? Explain the difference in the change in operating income between the two companies.
- Based on the information from the above questions, what recommendations would you make to the two companies and why?
8 years ago
Assume that two companies, Brake, Inc. and Carbo, Inc., have the following operating results: Brake, Inc. Carbo, Inc. Sales $300,000 $300,000 Variable Costs 60,000 180,000 Fixed Costs 210,000 90,000 Operating Income $30,000 $30,000 Required: 1. Calcu
NOT RATED
Purchase the answer to view it

- degree_of_leverage.docx