Advanced Managerial Accounting Case Study

profileesurmen
Surmenesra_14515_1531349_EsraSurmenweek6casestudyAdv.Mngr..xlsx

Case Study

Esra Surmen
Break-even point in units = (total fixed costs)/contribution margin
Contribution Margin (CM) = (Selling price per unit - variable cost per unit)
Break-even point in dollars = (total fixed costs)/Contribution Margin Ratio
Contribution margin ratio (CMR) = CM/Selling price per unit
Question One
a) Break even in units
Selling Price per unit = $16
Variable Cost per unit = $9
Contribution Margin = (S.P-V.C) = ($16 - $9) = $7
Total overhead fixed costs $ 60,000.00
Total fixed marketing costs $ 30,000.00
Total Fixed Costs $ 90,000.00
Therefore break even in units = $90,000/7 = 12857.1428571429 correct
break even in units = 12,857 sunglasses
b) BREAK EVEN IN SALES DOLLARS
CMR = $7/$16 = 0.4375
break even in dollars = $ 205,714.29 correct
Question Two
Analysis Accept the offer $ Manufatures to its maximun capacity $
Units 8,000 20,000
Sales 112,000.00 300,000.00 I think you took the average of 16 + 14 and used $15 did not take in to consideration different sales volumes
Less: Variable costs
Variable material cost @3.00 24000 60000
Variable labor @ 1.00 8000 20000
Variable Overhead @ 3.50 28000 70000
Variable Marketing costs @1.50 12000 30000
Contribution Margin 40,000.00 120,000.00
Less: Fixed Costs
Fixed Overhead Costs @4.00 32000 80000 Fixed costs stay the same at $90,000 at all levels
Fixed Marketing Costs @2.00 N/A 40000
Net Operating Income $ 8,000.00 $ - 0
Conclusion: Ban Oak Corp. should accept this sale since it offers the more profit as compared to the maximum capacity of sunglass.
Question Three
a) Break even in units
Selling Price per unit = $20
Variable Cost per unit = $12
Contribution Margin = (S.P-V.C) = ($20 - $12) = $8
Total overhead fixed costs $ 85,000.00 Fixed cost increase $25000 from $90000 to $115000
Total fixed marketing costs $ 40,000.00
Total Fixed Costs $ 125,000.00
Therefore break even in units = $125,000/8 = 15625
break even in units = 15,625 sunglasses
b) BREAK EVEN IN SALES DOLLARS
CMR = $8/$20 = 0.400
break even in dollars = $ 312,500.00
B)
Analysis Regular Sunglasses Mirrored Sunglasses see my solution key. Let me know if you do not understand
Units 11,000 Units 7,000
Sales 165,000.00 Sales 127,750.00
Less: Variable costs Less: Variable costs
Variable material cost @3.00 33000 Variable material cost @6.00 42000
Variable labor @ 1.00 11000 Variable labor @ 1.00 7000
Variable Overhead @ 3.50 38500 Variable Overhead @ 3.50 24500
Variable Marketing costs @1.50 16500 Variable Marketing costs @1.50 10500
Contribution Margin 66,000.00 Contribution Margin 43,750.00
Less: Fixed Costs Less: Fixed Costs
Fixed Overhead Costs @4.00 44000 Fixed Overhead Costs @4.25 29750
Fixed Marketing Costs @2.00 N/A Fixed Marketing Costs @2.00 14000
Net Operating Income $ 22,000.00 Net Operating Income $ - 0
Conclusion: The changes in the fixed as well as variable costs for mirrored glasses did not affect the profitability of Ban Oak Corp. since for regular sunglass, the profit was $22,000 while for the mirrored sunglass was $0.00