On Tue, Sep 20, 2016 at 1:38 AM, kavneet kaur <[email protected]> wrote:
1
Running head: DECISION ANALYSIS
PAGE
5
DECISION ANALYSIS
Decision Analysis
Name:
Institution:
Course:
Tutor:
Date:
Task 1
Food and Beverages at Southwestern University football games
a) The total fixed cost per game includes salaries, rental fees, and cost of the workers in the six booths. Based on the data in the case, complete the following Table 1:
|
South-western University |
|
|
|
|
|
Salaries |
$20,000 |
|
Rental fees |
$4,800 |
|
Booth worker wages |
$1,260 |
|
|
|
|
Total fixed cost per game |
$26,060 |
b) Allocate the total fixed cost to each food item as shown in the Table 2
|
Item |
Percentage revenue |
Fixed cost allocated |
|
Soft drink |
25% |
$6,515 |
|
Coffee |
25% |
$6,515 |
|
Hot dogs |
20% |
$5,212 |
|
Hamburgers |
20% |
$5,212 |
|
Misc. snacks |
10% |
$2,606 |
c) Compute the break-even points for each of these items and complete the Table 3
|
Item |
Selling Price |
Var. Cost |
Profit margin |
% Revenue |
Allocated Fixed Cost |
Break even volume |
|
Soft drink |
$1.50 |
$0.75 |
$0.75 |
25% |
6515 |
$8,686.67 |
|
Coffee |
$2.00 |
$0.50 |
$1.50 |
25% |
6515 |
$4,343.33 |
|
Hot dogs |
$2.00 |
$0.80 |
$1.20 |
20% |
5212 |
$4,343.33 |
|
Hamburgers |
$2.50 |
$1.00 |
$1.50 |
20% |
5212 |
$3,474.67 |
|
Msc. Snacks |
$1.00 |
$0.40 |
$0.60 |
10% |
2606 |
$4,343.33 |
d) Determine the total sales for each item that is required to break even, and show them in Table 4:
|
Item |
Selling Price |
Break even volume |
Dollar volume of sales |
|
Soft drink |
$1.50 |
$8,686.67 |
$13,030.00 |
|
Coffee |
$2.00 |
$4,343.33 |
$8,686.67 |
|
Hot dogs |
$2.00 |
$4,343.33 |
$8,686.67 |
|
Hamburgers |
$2.50 |
$3,474.67 |
$8,686.67 |
|
Msc. Snacks |
$1.00 |
$4,343.33 |
$4,343.33 |
|
Total |
|
|
$43,433.33 |
e) Write a brief report with your comments for Dr. Starr for his next meeting. Also comment critically on the assumptions and shortcomings of the decision based on break-even analysis (200 words).
From the above computation, break even the total sales must be equal to $43,433.31. In the event, a total of 35,000 people attend
Task 2
Question 2.1
a) If students are charged $20 to attend the session, how many students must enroll for the company to break even?
· The fixed costs entails the cost of the room and the cost for the tutor to get = $300 + $75 = $375.
· For the learning materials, cost per student is $5
· Thus the costs are 375 + 5s.
· For each student, we get $20
· We can only start making money when 20s > 375 + 5s
· We solve by putting likes terms together as; = (20 – 5) s = 375.
· This gives = 15s = 375
· To have s = 25
· Thus to break even, a total of 25 students must enroll.
b) A somewhat smaller room is available for $200 for 3 hours. The company is considering this possibility. How would this affect the break-even point?
· With a cheaper room of $200 for three hours, the fixed cost drops to ($200 +$75= $275).
· We compute break even as follows to determine how it has affected it.
· From 20s > 275 + 5s
· We solve by putting likes terms together as; = (20 – 5) s = 275.
· This gives = 15s = 275
· To have s = 18.33
· Thus to break even, a total of 18.33 students must enroll.
· Since there is 0.33 of students, a total of 19 students need to enroll so as to break even.
Question 2.2
|
|
Machine 1 |
Machine 2 |
|
Monthly lease cost |
$600 |
$400 |
|
Cost per page copied |
$0.010 |
$0.015 |
|
|
|
|
|
Charges per page for copies |
$0.05 |
|
a) What is the break-even point for each machine?
|
Break-even point for each machine |
||
|
Using the formula, BEP = Fixed cost / (Selling price per unit - Variable cost per unit) |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Machine 1 |
Machine 2 |
|
Fixed Coast |
$600 |
$400 |
|
Selling price per unit- Variable cost per unit |
$0.040 |
$0.035 |
|
|
|
|
|
BEP in units |
15000 |
11428.57 |
|
|
|
|
|
Break-even point in dollars (BEP$) = Fixed cost + (Variable costs × BEP) |
$750.000 |
$571.429 |
b) If Zoe expects to make 10,000 copies per month, then what would be the cost for each machine?
|
Cost for each machine |
||
|
|
|
|
|
|
Machine 1 |
Machine 2 |
|
Monthly lease cost |
$600 |
$400 |
|
Cost per page copied |
$0.010 |
$0.015 |
|
Copies made |
6,000 |
4,000 |
|
|
|
|
|
Cost per machine |
$660.000 |
$460.000 |
c) If Zoe expects to make 30,000 copies per month, then what would be the cost for each machine?
|
Cost for each machine |
||
|
|
|
|
|
|
Machine 1 |
Machine 2 |
|
Monthly lease cost |
$600 |
$400 |
|
Cost per page copied |
$0.010 |
$0.015 |
|
Copies made |
18,000 |
12,000 |
|
|
|
|
|
Cost per machine |
$780.000 |
$580.000 |
d) At what volume (the number of copies) would the two machines have the same monthly cost? What would be the total revenue for this number of copies?
· At 150,000,000 copies, the two machines will each produce 75,000 copies per month.
· The total revenue would be $7,500
Task 3
References
Choudhary, P, Patnaik, S, Singh, M & Kaushal, G., (2013). Break-Even Analysis in Healthcare Setup. Int J Res Foundation Hosp Healthc Adm 2013;1(1): 29 – 32.
Kucey, D., (1999). Decision analysis for the surgeon. World J Surg. 1999 Dec;23(12):1227-31.
Sears, E. D., & Chung, K. C. (2010). Decision Analysis in Plastic Surgery: A Primer. Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery, 126(4), 1373–1380. http://doi.org/10.1097/PRS.0b013e3181ead10a